Foundation Teams

Foundation Team:
Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Foundation’s Board of Directors, membership and volunteers. Museum staff are employees of the U. S. Government.

Click to see larger photo

Dateline April 2003, Nut Tree Airport, CA:
Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Board of Directors
and the Doolittle Raiders at the 61st Doolittle Tokyo Raider Reunion.

 

Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Foundation’s Board of Directors

Mr. Andy Popenoe
a.popenoe@travisairmuseum.org
President Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Foundation

Mrs. Denell Burks, Editor/Membership
d.burks@travisairmuseum.org
Vice President Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Foundation

Mr. Wally Mitchell
w.mitchell@travisairmuseum.org
Treasurer Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Foundation

Mr. Dave Florek
d.florek@travisairmuseum.org
Secretary Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Foundation and
Secretary Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Education Foundation

Mr. Phil Lancaster
p.lancaster@travisairmuseum.org
President Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Education Foundation

Mr. David Fleming
d.fleming@travisairmuseum.org
Vice President Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Education Foundation

Mr. Andrew Suihkonen
a.suihkonen@travisairmuseum.org
Treasurer Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Education Foundation

Mr. Len Augustine
l.augustine@travisairmuseum.org

Mr. Jack Batson
j.batson@travisairmuseum.org

Mr. George Buchanan
g.buchanan@travisairmuseum.org

Mr. Charles Dawes
c.dawes@travisairmuseum.org

Mr. Jerry Hoenicke
j.hoenicke@travisairmuseum.org

Mr. Earl Johnson, Gift Shop
e.johnson@travisairmuseum.org

Mr. Thomas Kulinski
t.kulinski@travisairmuseum.org

Mr. Fred Lewis

Mr. Duncan Miller

BGen. Mike Peters
m.peters@travisairmuseum.org

Mr. Bob Purves
b.purves@travisairmuseum.org

Mrs. Iris Taggart

MGen. James Taylor
j.taylor@travisairmuseum.org
Back to top of page

—————————————-

Foundation Membership

“Lifetime Membership” members, Mr. and Mrs. Walter Kane

“Lifetime Membership” members, Mr. and Mrs. Walter Kane,
pictured at a membership appreciation banquet.
Walter, past Museum docent, is currently enjoying retirement in Arizona.

Since 1982, members of the Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Foundation (previously the Travis Historical Society) have been essential in meeting the mission of bringing together historical, educational and technological resources to create programs which preserve our aviation heritage in building an air and space museum for all ages that embraces California aviation, Travis Air Force Base, the U. S. Air Force and the history of the Doolittle Tokyo RaidersJoin Up! The Jimmy Doolittle Air and Space Museum Foundation, with its Education Museum Foundation, is registered as a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization.

Back to top of page

—————————————-

Volunteers

Volunteers are the life’s blood of the Foundation and the Museum. Day in and day out, they provide a myriad of services for the Foundation and the Museum.

Currently, one of our volunteer stories involves our F-105 and the family of the late Major General James C. Wahleithner. They are participating in the Museum’s Adopt-A-Plane program.

MGen James C. Wahleithner

MGen James C. Wahleithner

MGen James C. Wahleithner, past Retired Officer’s Association president and past wing commander of the 349th Air Mobility Wing, Travis AFB. He flew our F-105 “Thunderchief,” serial number 62-4299.

Wahleithner’s prepping the F-105.

Wahleithner’s prepping the F-105.

Wahleithner family work day

Wahleithner family work day.

On behalf of their father’s memory, the family has adopted his F-105 and giving it some TLC. On Saturday, July 8, 2006 the Wahleithner family enjoyed a family picnic while prepping the F-105 for painting. MGen Wahleithner had 11 children (7 sons and 4 daughters).

The Foundation is proud to give a hearty BRAVO! SALUTE! APPLAUSE to the Wahleithner family members participating in the July 8th work day:

  • MSSgt Joseph Wahleithner, 940th, Beale AFB
    • Son: Joshua Wahleithner, age 14
    • Son: Jacob Wahleithner, age 12
    • Daughter: Kirsten Dykes, age 15
  • Janice Wahleithner Nygard
    • Daughter: Hanna Nygard, age 5 ½
    • Son: Christian James Nygard, age 2
  • Major James K. Wahleithner, Retired 349th AMXs
    • Daughter Kathuryn Wahleithner, age 5 ½
  • Jason Wahleithner
    • Wife:Adrienne Wahleithner
    • Daughter: Audry Wahleithner, age 9
    • Daughter: Lillian Wahleithner, age 5
  • Capt John Wahleithner, 70th ARS, Travis AFB
    • Wife:Juliet Wahleithner
  • SSgt Jared Wahleithner, 90th ARW, Beale AFB

In addition, Major Jay Wahleithner, 70th ARS, Travis AFB was part of the organizing committee, but not present. Other family members not present, but there in spirit are: June Loveless and family, Jeanne Patnode and family, Jill Wahleithner Brown and family and Jeff Wahleithner and family.

Back to top of page

—————————————-

How to Become a Volunteer:

Volunteers at the Museum enjoy a real sense of camaraderie, in a flexible environment that appreciates the value of their time and commitment. We use their particular skill or area of interest to fulfill the needs of the Museum.

We encourage you to become a museum volunteer…give the gift of time. Even a small commitment of time, can make a real difference. It’s a great opportunity to share your excitement and enthusiasm about aviation, while making a positive impact in the community.

If you’re interested, please call the Museum office at (707) 424-5606. We look forward to hearing from you. From docents to artisans, mechanics to shop keepers, we appreciate the gift of time and talent.

Back to top of page

—————————————-

Crew Chiefs:

The “Air Museum” is proud of the work our volunteer’s accomplish on a daily basis. We currently have a need for “Volunteers” or “Organizations” to adopt one of our aircraft displayed outside of the museum building. As a “Crew Chief” assigned to one of our aircraft you would be responsible for maintaining the overall appearance.

For more detailed information about Crew Chiefs, click here.

Back to top of page

—————————————-

Travis Air Museum Staff

The staff of the Travis Air Museum are employees of the the U S government and are a part of the National Museum of the United States Air Force program.

Dr. Gary Leiser

Dr. Gary Leiser

Biography:
Gary Leiser has been the director of the Travis Air Museum since 1996. Prior to that he was the historian for 15th AF headquartered at Travis. A Middle East specialist, he received a doctorate in Middle Eastern history from the University of Pennsylvania in 1976. He spent 10 years in the Middle East in various capacities and is fluent in Arabic and Turkish. He has published nine books on Middle Eastern history as well as numerous articles for scholarly journals and encyclopedias.

Dr Gary Leiser, Curator – (707) 424-5598
Gary.Leiser@travis.af.mil

 

MSgt Mitchell Danbury

MSgt Mitchell Danbury

Recently, MSgt Danbury visited with former NASA astronaut and retired Air Force Colonel C. Gordon Fullerton. Col. Fullerton dropped in for a brief stop to snap some pictures just like any other Museum tourist.

MSgt Mitchell Danbury, Superintendent – (707) 424-5605
Mitch.Danbury@travis.af.mil

 

Back to top of page

 [ Foundation History ]   [ Foundation Team ]   [ Crew Chiefs ]